J’adore The Kooples.

15 Jan

I’m loving The Kooples right now! I first saw the ads in British Vogue a while back, and I fell in love with the aesthetic instantly. They feature beautiful real life couples dressed darkly, clad in crisp tailored clothes. They ooze sophistication; Savile Row meets military styling with a healthy does of rock and roll attitude.

If you visit their website you’ll find the clothes behind the looks and video clips of the couples chatting about each other and things like how they met, why they love each other, sharing a quick kiss here and there. It sounds like it should be vom-inspiring, but it really isn’t. More like compelling. Filmed somewhere moody and slightly dishevelled makes for a contrast to the tailored, clean, sharp, structured looks the couples wear.  It was gorgeous and edgy and modern. And oh-so-European. (Even the American guys.) You watch them and they make you want to be them. So badly. And isn’t that what any good ad campaign is about?

I don’t entirely think I could pull off this look and honestly I am slightly envious of those who can. The women’s wear is definitely menswear inspired, and I think you either need to be really pretty or conversely androgynous to make it work. I am neither so I shall admire from afar. Although I do want to invest in one of their coats, but honestly there are limited opportunities in Sydney to whip one out of the wardrobe, so I’m not sure if I can justify it. But hey, maybe I will just have to go gallivanting around Europe again next winter to make sure it’s not a wasted purchase. Couldn’t have that now, could I?

Can Sydney make The Kooples work for them? I’m not sure, because a lot of what we wear is fairly relaxed and light. The Kooples is very classic and structured in comparison. What do you think?


2 Responses to “J’adore The Kooples.”

  1. Emma January 16, 2011 at 2:53 am #

    Oh, I’m so excited – the whole thing looks amazing. Brilliant style. That guy in the last photograph… phoar!

    • pariswaits January 16, 2011 at 12:58 pm #

      It is so gorgeous. You have to watch the videos. The Kooples just exude effortless style. I really think I need a coat from there. Even though it’s high summer here right now haha. And yes, some of those boys are fine! x

      ps. Thanks for reading my blog. I had a look at yours too – you’re posting heaps of cute things that I love too!

Leave a Reply

