Ladies at Lunch.

17 Jan

On Saturday I went to lunch with four of the most amazing girls in the world and one of the cutest babies out – Zoe and her gorgeous little girl, Nat, Sarah and Jess. These girls are some of the amazing people I met at fashion college, save for Nat, while still being amazing, is an old friend from school and one of the best people I know.

 

The dress I wore, I recently designed and made with my holiday-induced free time. It’s sort of a bit reminiscent in silhouette of Dior’s New Look; it has a certain vintage feel to it. But I think all at once it ended up a bit dressier and a bit edgier then I had anticipated. Which sounds like a strange combination, but have a look – what do you think?

| Dress – Original design, fabric from Jack Textiles, Marrickville | Shoes – Office Shoes, from Topshop Oxford Circus |

| Bag- Thrifted vintage leather | Belt – Vintage leather, thrifted from St Vinnies |

I got an amazing book for Christmas that I found in Kinokuniya (the website looks a bit dodge, but seriously the store in the Galleries Victoria, is the best bookshop in Sydney), called Pattern Magic. Sounds naff, but have a look at it! It’s really not. Apparently it is a Japanese book that has been published in English. It’s a little bit lost in translation, but beautiful and it really got me inspired to go back into designing my own clothes after a very long time of feeling stuck after I finished fashion college; it felt like I was in a creative black hole.  Anyway, this design was influenced by one of the techniques featured in this book, called deppari. Basically it uses the unevenness of the body to make fabric stand up. The book is full of techniques that are a little bit different , and often very sculptural. They certainly have no been seen in any other pattern making tomes I have come across. Most of which are riddled with 80’s aesthetic, and make for general hilarity.

Anyway this is my first ‘what I wore’ post and I am kind of nervous about it. I am no fashion model.

X


4 Responses to “Ladies at Lunch.”

  1. natalie January 17, 2011 at 1:25 pm #

    aw and your one of the most amazing people i know! x

    • Crystal. January 17, 2011 at 1:30 pm #

      Awww all round. Thanks for reading Nat!

      ps. How freaking cute is Zoe’s little girl!

  2. jessica January 17, 2011 at 2:14 pm #

    Lookin’ fine I must say!
    xx

    • Crystal. January 17, 2011 at 3:22 pm #

      Thanks Jess-ka!

Leave a Reply

